Bicentennial Celebration of the Illinois Judiciary

Springfield, October 9, 2018 – From the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum, members of the Illinois Supreme Court are joined by attorneys and judges from across the state, to mark the 200th anniversary of the founding of Illinois’ Judicial Branch. On October 9, 1818 the first four judges were appointed to sit on the Illinois Supreme Court. In fact, in October of 1818 Illinois was not yet a state — and the judges were appointed as “Territorial Justices”. Illinois officially became a state on December 3, 1818.

To mark this occasion, the Justices and guests welcome Chicago’s Scott Turow as their Keynote Speaker. Turow, is an attorney of 40 years who continues to practice law, but is known around the world as the best selling author of nonfiction books that focus on legal issues. Among his best sellers are “Presumed Innocent” and “The Burden of Proof” His books have sold over 30 million copies worldwide.

Also speaking are Illinois Chief Justice, Lloyd Karmeier and former Senator Kirk Dillard who now serves as the Chairman of the Regional Transportation Authority of Chicago.